To My Beloved You

Unfair, you call me. I bring you all kinds of pain and sorrow because I have plenty of them in me. You talk about me with a sigh on your lips; I tire you. You curse me, blaming me for the brokenness I have on the surface, like I am nothing but shattered glass cutting your flesh deep in my presence.

I am meaningless, you say. “What point is it to keep me around?” To you, I am a broken charm with no more hopes of repair. You may have considered keeping me around, but maybe — although it hurts — it has already crossed your mind: you want to get rid of me; you want to. . . kill me.

I remember, we used to be best friends. As a child, you had taken me as one! We used to play together, laugh and cry together, build dreams together and believe together. Dear friend, what happened to the both of us?

I know you hate me now, but let me tell you this: I am not made against you; I am not made to harm you. Look closely.

I am beautiful. Yet, look not on my face. It is broken and has been dirtied by this world. Instead, dig deep into my heart. In there lies a wonderful spectrum of light formed from water droplets during the heavy rain this damaged world brings. It is my faith and hope in you, still believing in your purpose, your destiny.

Come and look closer. Yes, closer until you hear it beating. Do you hear it? It’s the same lullaby you heard in your mother’s womb, singing that she loves you.

I love you.

I am still your friend, your best friend. If only you can take heart to see me differently.

Don’t give up on me, please?

Very Truly yours,

LIFE

P.S.

Don’t die. Someone already did for you.

1 Thessalonians 5:10

He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with Him.


Leave a Reply

