2015: And It Was Good

“Evening passed and morning came, the 2015th year,” I imagine the Lord say as I run through every bit of memory I have of this year; images passing through my eyes as if it was only yesterday that they happened. Still, as they flash before my eyes, I can never fathom how I made it to this particular night, writing my heart out to you.

2015 was the year I had a revelation, an awe, of how great the price I was ransomed with by the Lord – His life. That pierced through my heart, for I will and can never understand how a perfect God can love someone as flawed as me. In those moments, I knew my heart aligned with His and in that same moment, I accepted Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior.

Joy came as a sugar rush to my spirit. It ran through my veins to my very core, until it only beat for the Lord. Yet, testing did come (Ezekiel 21:13). The ground shook and as hard as I was doing my best to keep my feet on the ground, I fell – everything fell . . . but God never let me go.

The question always lingered inside my head: why? But during the time I was about to complain and be angry at the Lord, He spoke to me through the lyrics of a song:

The world will soon dissolve like snow,

The sun forbears to shine.

But God who calls me here below,

Will be forever mine.

Maybe, you ask the same question as well and couldn’t comprehend why things happened the way they did. Maybe, you had lots of unanswered prayers and a drought struck your land. Or maybe, nothing was just in your favor. But I tell you this, just as what He told me that very night:

I am your breakthrough – your greatest breakthrough.

And for that, we can already be grateful, for He will never be taken away from us.

It had been a long journey, this year was; for almost 365 days, several chapters ended and many began – people came and gone, but many remained. To them, my lips have spoken many greetings, thanks and apologies; there were devastating storms, but a rainbow never failed to show after. Through them, a thousand smile was given and a million laughter was heard. There were also hundreds of silent, unheard cries and countless tears God has stored and kept in His bottle (Psalm 56:8); failures and wrong decisions, there were definitely great, but greater wisdom was always on the brighter side; rejection, insecurities and fears almost ate me up, but love never failed to cast them away. However, despite everything, I can truly say that it was all worth it.

Yours was worth it.

And on that New Year’s Eve, as men will shoot fireworks into the night sky and we will watch their brilliant and kaleidoscopic lights dance before our eyes, I can’t wait to hear the Lord sweetly whisper into our ears, “And it was good.”

Leave a Reply

