To Christians and LGBT Community: A Plead for Peace

If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.”

1 Corinthians 13:2

My heart aches so much for what has been happening recently between the Christians and the LGBT community. As I scroll down my newsfeed in Facebook, all I can see is rage and hatred: LGBT extremely offended with what Sir Manny Pacquiao stated that they pressured Nike to drop his sponsorship benefits; some Christians “fighting” for their faith to the point of almost condemnation; and, others criticizing the other party for their reactions – just adding gasoline to the fire that is already going wild! Seriously, what is happening?

I didn’t really want to say my opinion about this, but my spirit somehow prompted me to voice this out:

To the LGBT Community,

As a Filipino and a Christian, I too apologize for what Sir Manny Pacquiao has said. Yet, I also stand by our faith. However, I do not see you as worse than animals; I am not condemning you for I have no right to do so. I love you. But this I assure you: God loves you even more than I do – even more than anyone else does – for He loved us while we were still sinners. So this I ask of you, without reprove: Let love – real love – win again by forgiving, because you are loved and forgiven by an impeccable God.

To Christians,

As your fellow Christian, I admire you by standing by our faith. As I said, I do stand by it too. However, let’s not react, but respond in love. Let us be reminded that we are no different, because we are all sinners too. I know that we should always side with the truth – with our faith taught to us by God through the Bible – but that doesn’t mean we should fight the other side to the point of condemnation or hatred. We shouldn’t declare or allow any harm to one another for our tongues are created to bless and not to curse. Plus, as the verse stated above, we are nothing without love. We may be siding with our faith, but doing it without love, that faith is empty.

Since we carry the name tag of Jesus, let’s represent Him well and ask ourselves: What would Jesus do?

To Sir Manny Pacquiao,

 I don’t think any less of you. I still salute you for the pride you brought to our country. I believe that you didn’t mean offense. I admire that you faced the situation calmly and entertained no pride by saying sorry. I do not know what you may be going through right now, but I do know that God loves you no matter what you said. Everybody can wrong you, because they heard only the words you said, but God sees and saw your intentions, your heart. That’s what matters most.


I am not being righteous. This is not me, rebuking all of you; this is me, pleading for peace. I stand by my faith, but I’m siding with love. Let us promote these:

#RealLoveWins

#PrayForMannyPacquiao

#PrayForTheLGBTCommunity

 #PrayForNike

#StopBoycottingStartPraying

Leave a Reply

